City of Ashville Council Meeting December 16, 2024 @ 6:00 PM

Mayor Pro-Tem Robin Bowlin called the Council meeting to order at 6pm on December 16, 2024.

Councilmembers Adam Abernathy, Robin Bowlin, Edward Roscoe Lane, and Denise Williams were present. Mayor Derrick Mostella and Councilmember Shirley Smith were absent.

Mayor Pro-Tem Robin Bowlin asked for a motion to approve the final meeting agenda. Councilmember Denise Williams made a motion to approve the final meeting agenda; Councilmember Edward Roscoe Lane seconded the motion; all Councilmembers voted yes; motion approved.

Mayor Pro-Tem Robin Bowlin asked for a motion to approve the minutes from the December 2, 2024, Council Meeting. Councilmember Denise Williams made a motion to approve the minutes from the December 2, 2024, meeting; Councilmember Edward Roscoe Lane seconded the motion; all councilmembers voted yes, motion approved.

Citizen Scott Pruitt did not attend.

Nathan Hinds was present to discus the paving of Dietrich Road stating it has lots of holes. Unfortunately, the patch work that was done a few weeks ago was washed out. He requested that it be patched again and put on the repave list next time it is reviewed.

Mayor Pro-Tem Robin Bowlin opened the public hearing at 6:05pm for public comments regarding the rezone request for Karen Tiptom near 19752 US Hwy 11 Steele (Parcels 05-07-26-0-001-026.00 and 05-07-26-0-001-026.033). There were no comments from the public. Mayor Pro-Tem Robin Bowlin closed the public hearing at 6:05pm.

Mayor Pro-Tem Robin Bowlin asked for a motion to suspend the rules of order and consider Ordinance 2024-021 Amend the Zoning Ordinance for Parcels 05-07-26-0-001-026.000 and 05-07-26-0-001-026.003. Councilmember Denise Williams made a motion to suspend the rules of order and consider Ordinance 2024-021 Amend the Zoning Ordinance for Parcels 05-07-26-0-001-026.000 and 05-07-26-0-001-026.003. Councilmember Edward Roscoe Lane seconded the motion. In a roll call vote, Councilmember Denise Williams voted yes, Councilmember Adam Abernathy voted yes, Mayor Pro-Tem Robin Bowlin voted yes, Councilmember Edward Roscoe Lane voted yes; motion approved.

Mayor Pro-Tem Robin Bowlin asked for a motion to consider Ordinance 2024-021 Amend the Zoning Ordinance for Parcels 05-07-26-0-001-026.000 and 05-07-26-0-001-026.003. The Planning Commission's recommendation to the City Council is to approve the rezone. Councilmember Denise Williams made a motion to accept the Planning Commission's recommendation to approve Ordinance 2024-021 Amend

the Zoning Ordinance for Parcels 05-07-26-0-001-026.000 and 05-07-26-0-001-026.003. Councilmember Edward Roscoe Lane seconded the motion; all councilmembers voted yes; motion approved.

Mayor Pro-Tem Robin Bowlin asked for a motion to approve the professional services agreement for LWCF Grant Management with Witt O'Briens not to exceed \$32,673.62. Councilmember Denise Williams made a motion to approve the professional services agreement for LWCF Grant Management with Witt O'Briens not to exceed \$32,673.62; Councilmember Edward Roscoe Lane seconded the motion; all councilmembers voted yes; motion approved.

Mayor Pro-Tem Robin Bowlin asked for a motion to approve the request for additional design fee for GMC related to the park renovation in the amount of \$5,000. Councilmember Edward Roscoe Lane made a motion to a approve the request for additional design fee for GMC related to the park renovation in the amount of \$5,000; Councilmember Adam Abernathy seconded the motion; all councilmembers voted yes; motion approved.

Mayor Pro-Tem Robin Bowlin asked for a motion to pay the bills due. Councilmember Denise Williams made a motion to approve the bills due. Councilmember Edward Roscoe Lane seconded the motion, all Councilmembers voted yes; motion approved.

Announcements:

- The next City Council meeting will be January 6, 2025, at 6pm. The work session will begin at 5:30pm.
- City Hall will be closed December 24 & 25 for the Christmas Holiday
- City Hall will be closed December 31 & January 1 for the New Years Holiday

Derrick Mostella, Mayor	Chrystal St. John, City Clerk